The Seventeen-Books-of-the-Month Club

Last year my reading goal was 100 books; my goal this year is 200. I was talking to my brother, Z, about it, and he asked if there are any rules to that number. I said, No, meaning there will be comic books, audiobooks, plays, and YA books among the 200. But there are rules:

  1. Fifty books by female authors.
  2. Thirty-five books by authors of color.
  3. I also have a set list of 35-40 titles to read (including lots of Saint Augustine and Toni Morrison, among others).
  4. Those categories can overlap with one another.

Z also challenged me to blog about the progress and what I’m reading, so here’s my Goodreads profile for you’n’s.


In other reading news, I’m grieving Harper Lee’s passing today. Thanks for the video, Guardian. Thanks for your art, Harper Lee:

 

Leave a Reply

