Frank Turner is Not Billy Bragg (Which Is Perfectly Okay)

When I first heard of Frank Turner, it was because of his most recent release, Tape Deck Heart. My interest was piqued by the story of his move from young punk rocker toward socially conscious (lefty) folkie. This, in addition to his Brit-ness, means he is Billy Bragg, Jr.!!!

Except he’s not. Billy Bragg is enough Billy Bragg for a couple generations at least and Frank Turner is Frank Turner, and that’s great.

“The Way I Tend to Be” is the song that I found myself listening to every time I got into the car for days on end. I could present some argument for how it’s not emo, even though it is sonically and emotionally clearly emo (which might just make it emo, which might mean I enjoy an emo song). Strike two, of course, is that he is quite handsome.

Let’s listen to the song already (and perhaps read the lyrics below the video as you listen):

Some mornings I pray for evening,
For the day to be done.
Some summer days I hide away
And wait for rain to come.

Cause it turns out hell will not be found
Within the fires below,
But in making do and muddling through
When you’ve nowhere else to go.

And then I remember you,
And the way you shine like truth in all you do.
And if you remembered me,
You could save me from the way I tend to be,
The way I tend to be.

Some days I wake up dazed, my dear,
And I don’t know where I am.
I’ve been running now for so long I’m scared
I’ve forgotten how to stand.

And I stand around in airport bars
And I gather thoughts to think:
That if all I had was one long road
It could drive a man to drink.

Because I’ve said I love you so many times
that the words kinda die in my mouth.
And I meant it each time with each beautiful woman
but somehow it never works out.

You stood apart in my calloused heart,
and you taught me and here’s what I learned:
That love is about all the changes you make
and not just three small words.

And then I catch myself
Catching your scent on someone else
In a crowded space
And it takes me somewhere I cannot quite place.

If you want to hear some great lyrics, also listen to “Fisher King Blues,” (not to mention the entire album, which, yes, has an explicit label).

Leave a Reply

